top of page
  • Writer's picturePaul Greig Smith

EU to add Registration Requirement for US Travelers

Travel throughout parts of Europe for American citizens just became slightly more difficult. Starting in 2021, the European Union will require US citizens to register to visit upwards of 26 European countries.

July 2018 the EU established the European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS), which would require "pre-travel screening for security and migration risks of travelers benefiting from visa-free access to the Schengen area". Upon arrival at EU borders, travelers will need to provide both a valid travel document and ETIAS authorisation.



bottom of page